Trump signs federal ban on animal cruelty

President Trump on Monday signed the Preventing Animal Cruelty and Torture Act, a new federal ban on animal cruelty.

The law will outlaw purposeful crushing, burning, drowning, suffocation, impalement or other violence causing “serious bodily injury” to animals.

Violations could result in a fine and up to seven years’ imprisonment.

The act passed the House and Senate with bipartisan support earlier this year.

It has been cheered by animal-welfare groups and also by members of law enforcement who want to “stop animal abusers” before they hurt animals or people again.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here